Metallica Will Release Live Bataclan Album to Benefit Victims of Terrorist Attack


Musical juggernauts Metallica have announced plans to release an album of live recordings from Le Bataclan to benefit victims of the November 13th terrorist attacks.

The release will coincide with Record Store Day, the annual shopping event aimed at promoting independent music stores over big box chains and internet retailers. Originally started in the United States, the event has gone international and is known as “Disquaire Day” in France.

Many Record Store Day releases are just that—actual vinyl records—but the live album will be released on CD and vinyl on April 16th.

The tracks were culled from a one-night, three-venue set of shows Metallica performed to promote their 2003 album, St. Anger, at La Boule Noire, Le Trabendo, and Le Bataclan. The album—Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité, Metallica!—will have nine tracks:

  1. The Four Horsemen
  2. Leper Messiah
  3. No Remorse
  4. Fade To Black
  5. Frantic
  6. Ride The Lightning
  7. Blackened
  8. Seek And Destroy
  9. Damage, Inc.

All proceeds from sales of the album will go to Fondation de France’s Give For France initiative, which has been raising funds for both survivors and the families of victims of the terrorist attacks.


A close up of a sign


Get your weekly dose of Frenchly’s news.

Read more

Frenchly newsletter.

A close up of a sign

Get your weekly dose of Frenchly’s news.

Frenchly Newsletter.

A close up of a sign

Get your weekly dose of Frenchly stuff.