Albertine Awards its Annual Prize at June 6th Ceremony


Attention bookworms and Francophiles: Your summer reading list is about to get a little longer. The winner of the second annual Albertine Prize will be revealed at an awards ceremony on June 6th at the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in New York.

The Albertine Prize recognizes American readers’ favorite work of contemporary Francophone fiction that has been translated and published in the US in the past year. The shortlist of finalists selected by author Lydia Davis and French literary critic François Busnel is as follows:

– “Incest” by Christine Angot, translated by Tess Lewis

– “Compass” by Mathias Enard, translated by Charlotte Mandell

– “Not One Day” by Anne Garreta, translated by Emma Ramadan

– “The End of Eddy” by Edouard Louis, translated by Michael Lucey

– “Black Moses” by Alain Mabanckou, translated by Helen Stevenson

Although voting has closed, join other Francophile readers in celebrating the winning title. A panel discussion with the winning author and translator, moderated by François Busnel, will follow. The free event will be conducted in English and is open to the public. Click here to RSVP.

A close up of a sign


Get your weekly dose of Frenchly’s news.

Read more

Frenchly newsletter.

A close up of a sign

Get your weekly dose of Frenchly’s news.

Frenchly Newsletter.

A close up of a sign

Get your weekly dose of Frenchly stuff.